

15th IWBF Europe Congress

29 June 2017 (Tenerife, Spain)

1. Welcome by the President of IWBF Europe

- Walter Pfaller, President of IWBF Europe opened at 10:00 the 15th IWBF Europe Congress at Tenerife, Spain.
- Welcome words delivered by President to all present NOWB delegates. Special mention to IWBF World delegates.
- Acknowledgment of the strength of IWBF Europe Board Members and the good working relationship that they have despite the recent enforced changes.
- Thanks were given to the Ron Coppenrath and the significant input that he had to the sport of Wheelchair Basketball. Also thanks to Luigi Amadio for his contribution to the game in many ways including organisation of board meetings and ITO clinics. A moment of silence was respected in memory of both Ron and Luiggi.

2. Roll Call and Apologies

- 14 Countries present at IWBF Europe Congress
- In addition, other representatives from European Member Federations attended the meeting.
- Apologies from Maurice Hammerton, Malcolm Tarkenter and Tonia Gomez Ruf.
- 3. Minutes of the 14th Congress, Worcester, United Kingdom (5th September 2015)
 - The minutes from the 14th IWBF Europe Congress were accepted as a true record of the meeting.

4. Biennial Report 2015-17 of the Commission Officers of IWBF Europe

- Report was previously circulated with exception of PR-Marking and report from Secretary General, both of which was available on arrival at Congress. No comments from the floor re the report therefore approved without further discussion.
- The Biennial Report 2015-17 was approved and adopted by Congress.

5. Financial Report (included in the Biennial Report)

- Frits de Jong (FdJ) presented the financial report. Highlight was made on the reduction
 of 80,000 euro contribution from FIBA Europe and the relocation of the U22 Finals into
 2017 the account was 3,000 euro in deficient which was not predicted. Work in
 underway to bridge this gap with a more structured sponsorship and marketing
 programme to continue the improvement of IWBF Europe. Financial Report was
 approved.
- The Financial Report was adopted by consensus by Congress

6. Presentation of the budgets including a forecast for the next quadrennial (also included in the Biennial Report)

 GBR commented on absence of projected income on the accounts. Frits de Jong responded that this was difficult to project due to infancy of new board and marketing strategy including the new IWBF Europe website. Fernando Zappile thanked Frits de Jong for his significant contribution to IWBF Europe following Ron's reign.

7. Amendments to the IWBF Europe General Regulations

- Following consultation of members during the EuroLeague, the EuroCup finals and the IWBF Europe Forum the following was discussed:
- i) Competition format of the Champions League where 3rd place team in the Quarter Finals Champions Cup enters the EuroLeague 1 final (previous André Vergauwen Cup). This results in one of the lower ranking teams in the preliminary EuroLeague 3 not attending the EuroLeague 3 final (previous Challenge Cup). **Decision that this was to start in 2017/18 season was approved by majority vote.**
- ii) Accommodation fee for quarter finals and final 4 increase to €300 to cover 4 days plus access to training. **Decision was passed unanimously.**
- Proposal to make the ECM under 22, the ECM division B and division C championships single gender and run both Male and Female U24 European Championships every 2 years. Discussion regarding the strength of female teams at U24/25 level, currently only 3 national teams at U25, if each host a championship, this allows 6 years to develop more national teams. All in favour of proposal regarding U22 Male Championship and move from U25 to U24 Male and Female Championships run every 2 years.
- iv) Guest players are not permitted to play in EuroLeague and EuroCup competitions. **All in favour.**

8. Amendments to the Manual of Regulations for the Conduct of Wheelchair Basketball Championships in Europe

- Discussion held around the development of Zonal and International Referees. If a Zonal Referee scores >92 they should advance direct to International Licence.
- The Manual of Regulations for the Conduct of Wheelchair Basketball Championships in Europe will require updating based on above decisions. **Dirk Cossaer aims is to have this completed for the start at the 2017/18 season**. The main changes in addition to above is the release of players from clubs for National Team Duties the first weekend in January and over the Easter weekend. Teams not complying will face a €2,500 fine per player per occasion. Hans Tukker asked how this information would be passed on. **Response was via the publication of the updated manual and direct communications to Federations and Clubs.**

9. Other Business

- Presentation from the LOC of the World Championships 2018 in Hamburg "ZA-DONK!" Information regarding the city, competition dates, hotels, venues and transfer times shared.
- Change of IWBF Europe Secretary General from 01.07.2017 as Frits de Jong (FdJ) steps down and Petr Tucek (PT) is successor on this position. They have already been working together for 6 months handover and FdJ will continue to support PT in his new role as Secretary General. PT thanked FdJ for his contribution during a challenging period for IWBF Europe. FdJ felt honoured to hold the position of Secretary General and accepted the challenge to work for the best interest of the IWBF Europe and the sport of Wheelchair Basketball and wished the incoming Secretary General his best wishes.
- PT thanked the board and IWBF Europe for the opportunity to work with everyone to progress the sport further. His aim to continue to develop closer relationships with the National Federations and IWBF World.

10. Closing words

 IWBF Europe president Walter Pfaller thanked all who attended the Congress and the support of the Board of IWBF Europe. The IWBF Europe Congress was closed at 11:20.

Annex: NOWB members present at the IWBF Europe Congress

Belgium: Wouter Terryn Czech Republic: Petr Tuček Carsten Rehling Germany: Great Britain: Paul Hudson Greece: Kaloudis Christos Israel: Nisim Saportas Fernando Zappille Italy: Lithuania: Linas Radykas The Netherlands: Krijn de Schutter Wojciech Makowski Poland: Serbia: Milutin Jelenic Žarko Tomšič Slovenia: Benny Lindblom Sweden: Turkey: Arif Umit Uzturk

Various other interested people, including IWBF Executive Council and IWBF Europe Executive Council members.