ECMWA2021: final ranking

ECMWA2021: final ranking

Withdraws impact the medal games

This morning IWBF Europe received communication from the Federations of Great Britain, Germany and Italy that all three countries have withdrawn their teams from the Men’s competition of the European Championships Men and Women Division A.

The teams inform us that they have withdrawn due to their concerns about two further coronavirus cases having been confirmed in teams within the competition over the last 24 hours.

Before the competition, IWBF Europe established with the Local Organising Committee – FEDDF – a documented covid protocol which applies to the European Championships in Madrid. The protocol was prepared by FEDDF in close consultation with their medical committee and the Public Health authorities of the City of Madrid. The principles within the protocol go beyond those of Madrid’s own public health laws.

All players, staff and officials signed a document before the tournament confirming their understanding of the protocol and agreeing to play under its terms and conditions.

The impact of the decision to withdraw their teams means that the Men’s Bronze Medal game scheduled for 16:00 today did not take place, and the Men’s Gold Medal game scheduled for 18:30 will go through the forfeit procedure.

The priority of IWBF Europe remains to protect the health and wellbeing of athletes, staff and officials. We are of course disappointed with the ending of the championship, but we understand the players decisions. We wish the players and team members who are affected by covid a fast recovery.

We would like to extend our thanks to the Local Organising Committee for their understanding and cooperation in these challenging circumstances.

The final standings European Championships Men and Women Division A:

Men’s Competition

1 – The Netherlands
2 – Great Britain
4 = Germany
4 = Italy
5 – France
6 – Poland
7 – Spain
8 – Austria
9 – Israel
10 – Switzerland
11 – Lithuania
12 – Turkey

Women’s Competition

1 – The Netherlands
2 – Great Britain
3 – Spain
4 – Germany
5 – France
6 – Turkey